FEMA Flood Mitigation Grants

January 29, 2021 Deadline For
FEMA Hazard Mitigation Grant Applications

The application period for FEMA’s Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) grants under the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) and new Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) programs is now open. Eligible applicants must apply for funding through the FEMA Grants Outcomes (GO) system. All applications must be submitted no later than 3:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time (EST), January 29, 2021.

These two competitive grant programs provide states, local communities, tribes and territories funding for eligible mitigation activities to reduce the risks they face and the impact of future disasters. For FY21, a total of $660 million in funding is available for FMA and BRIC. FEMA will distribute up to $160 million through the FMA grant program, and a record-breaking $500 million of pre-disaster mitigation funding is available through the new BRIC program. Applications submitted after the deadline will not be considered for funding.

Additional Information:

Silver Jackets Teams Facilitate Collaborative Solutions to
State Flood Risk Priorities

Silver Jackets teams in states across the United States bring together multiple state, federal, and sometimes tribal and local agencies to learn from one another in reducing flood risk and other natural disasters. By applying their shared knowledge, the teams enhance response and recovery efforts when such events do occur. While some states do not use the “Silver Jackets” name, there are a growing number of states applying the Silver Jackets approach – the ultimate goal is a state-led interagency team in every state. No single agency has all the answers but leveraging multiple programs and perspectives can provide a cohesive solution.

Although each state Silver Jackets team is unique, common agency participants include state agencies with mission areas of hazard mitigation, emergency management, floodplain management, natural resources management or conservation, etc. Federal participation typically includes the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and the Federal Emergency Management Agency and often others such as the National Weather Service and the U.S. Geological Survey.

Please Click Here To Learn More