Mike McCormick, Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation

Mr. McCormick, of Union Church, serves as the 10th president of the Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation, the largest general farm organization in Mississippi, with more than 178,000 member-families in 82 county Farm Bureaus. Under McCormick’s progressive leadership, the 99-year-old organization has grown exponentially and expanded its programs to meet the needs of Mississippi farmers, ranchers and Farm Bureau members.

McCormick, a cow-calf and timber farmer, operates one of the oldest family farms in Mississippi, which dates back to the 1820s. Prior to being elected to his current position, McCormick served as the president of Jefferson County Farm Bureau, a member of the Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation Board of Directors, a member of the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association Beef Promotion and Research Board, and was a founding member of the Farm Families of Mississippi agriculture image campaign program. McCormick currently serves on the Board of Directors for the American Farm Bureau Federation, Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance Company, Southern Farm Bureau Life Insurance Company, American Agricultural Insurance Company and Farm Bureau Bank. In addition, he holds positions on the Mississippi State University College of Veterinary Medicine Dean’s Advisory Council, Alcorn State University Dean’s Advisory Council, Mississippi 4-H Foundation and the Federal Communications Commission Taskforce. McCormick has received numerous awards, including an Honorary State FFA Degree from the Mississippi FFA Association; the Mississippi State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Dean’s Award; the Mississippi State University College of Veterinary Medicine President’s Pegasus Award; the Mississippi State University Extension Director’s Award; and was named one of the Top 50 Most Influential People in Mississippi.

McCormick graduated from the University of Southern Mississippi with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. He and his wife, Suezan, have been married for 33 years. They are active members of Union Church Presbyterian Church.